Fried courgette flowers

Fiori di zucca fritti. Courgette flowers are just starting to become available in markets in the UK, however, I wouldn’t attempt this dish unless you can get them really fresh. If you grow your own courgettes, you’re laughing . I am growing them in pots on my balcony this year so this recipe will get a lot of use.

Flower on the plant

Flower on the plant

To trim, if they are male flowers they will have a straight stalk, trim the ends if needed, gently open up the flower and pinch out the stamens.  If they are female flowers they will have a courgette attached. If it is a baby, cut it into 4, but leave it attached to the flower, otherwise detach the flower. Serves 4

Courgette flowers

Courgette flowers

  • 12 courgette flowers, trimmed

For the batter

  • 350g 00 flour
  • 400 ml cold water
  • A large pinch of salt

Mix together the flour, water and salt. Add enough water to get a consistency of single cream. Leave to rest for an hour or so.

Fried cougette flowers batter

Fried cougette flowers batter

Dip the flowers in the batter and deep fry until they are lightly brown

Fried courgette flowers frying

Fried courgette flowers frying

Drain on kitchen paper, season with salt and serve immediately.

Fried courgette flowers finished dish

Fried courgette flowers finished dish

2 thoughts on “Fried courgette flowers

  1. Do you by chance, know of any quality online food services? I am starting to order all my food online because of various reasons. (Health being one of them) So far I have found 2 services, Fresh Dining (an LA company) and Celebrity Foods, but you have to call them so they can talk to you about your need. I would really like any suggestions that you may have, so I can widen my list of quality places online where I can order healthy food from.
    Thank you and have a great night or day…depending on when you read this. LOL!!!!

    • Hi Leo

      I can’t help you I’m afraid. I’m based in the south of Italy. If I want quality foods I can call my local shop and they’ll send a boy round with it
      I’m guessing that you are based in the US. Try the big supermarket chains. In the UK most of them allow you to order online and deliver for a small charge.

      Good luck in your search

Leave a Reply

