Grilled, Marinated Bream

Orata ai ferri. I’ve decided to make better use of my local fish market seeing as it’s just five minutes walk away from my flat. I’d forgotten that Monday is a bad day to go, as the day boats don’t go out on a Sunday. As a result, all that was available was either farmed or frozen. I made the best of it however and bought a couple of very fresh bream. So fresh in fact that they were still in rigor mortis.

Update: I’ve just realised that I cooked this recipe about a year ago and it’s already on the blog. D’oh! Oh well, it proves I like it I suppose :-)

Grilled, marinated bream ingredients

  • 1 medium sea bream per person – cleaned and scaled
  • Plenty of chopped parsley (pref. flat leaf)
  • Fresh lemon juice
  • Fine dry breadcrumbs
  • Olive oil
  • Salt
  1. Make a marinade by mixing together roughly equal amounts of lemon juice and olive oil. Add the parsley and season with salt and pepper.
  2. Pour the marinade over the fish making sure that some gets into the cavity. Leave to marinate for a few hours in the fridge.
  3. Drain the fish well, reserving the marinade. sprinkle with the breadcrumbs.
  4. Cook under a medium grill for around 15 minutes (depending on the size of the fish). Turn two or three times during cooking. Baste with the marinade every so often.
  5. Serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

