Sea bass on a bed of lemons.

Spigola su letto di Limoni. This recipe comes from an Italian tv chef. It’s a bit showy as you might expect. You have to clean the fish by making a slit down either side of the back bone. Snip through the back bone and remove it along with the guts. If you’re not so worried about the look of the thing, I’m sure it would taste just as good if you cleaned it the usual way, via the belly. Better still, you could fillet the bass and bake the fillets covered with the chopped tomato mixture. Serves 4

Sea bass on a bed of lemons ingredients

  • 4 small sea bass – prepared as above
  • 100g cherry tomatoes – chopped
  • 8 whole cherry tomatoes
  • 2 or 3 lemons thinly sliced
  • A few needles of fresh rosemary
  • 1 clove of garlic – finely chopped
  • 1 or 2 sprigs of parsley – finely chopped
  • Salt and pepper
  • Olive oil
  1. Mix together the chopped tomatoes, rosemary, garlic,  parsley and a little olive oil. Season with salt and pepper. Stuff the cavity of the fish with this mixture.
  2. Add two slices of lemon to each fish, one on each side of the cavity. They should look something like the leaves of an open book.
  3. Add two whole cherry tomatoes to each fish and drizzle with a little more oil.
  4. Crumple a sheet of aluminium and use this to support the fish and keep them upright while cooking.
  5. Bake for ten minutes at 180C
  6. Cover a serving plate with the rest of the lemon slices arrange the cooked fish on top.

Sea bass on a bed of lemons finished dish

4 thoughts on “Sea bass on a bed of lemons.

  1. I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don’t know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.

    Lucia

    (site lame PR company bot is trying to plug deleted)

  2. I tried your recipe and loved it so much that I’ve forwarded your blog site to all of my friends yeah, right. One thing in this hard economy is coming up with recipes that not only taste great but also are easy on the pocket book well done, nicely non specific. Myself, I am trying to husband all of my dishes so that I throw away as little as possible. For example, if you have extra lemons or limes on hand and want to save them before they spoil, squeeze the juice into an ice-cube tray, then transfer the frozen juice cubes to a plastic bag where you can use them later to flavor drinks. Speaking of lemons (here comes some shameless flattery in the hope I’ll let the comment through and next time your readers use your fantastic recipe to prepare a shameless cynic may think they cut and pasted the next phrase :-) “Sea Bass on a Bed of Lemons”) I found a fun lemons site (site lame PR company bot is trying to plug deleted) which has “music for lemon lovers” which I got a kick out of. You can listen to clips of songs like “Lemon Tree” by Peter, Paul and Mary. Thanks again for all of the great tips. (you wouldn’t like to specify which of the great tips you particulary like? No? I thought not) :-)
    Gina

    • How flattered I am to recieve your comment.

      Almost as flattered as when I recieve a letter addressed to “the householder”.

      How stupid do you people think we are?

      comments in italics are my additions

Leave a Reply

