Orecchiette with anchovies and bread crumbs

This dish is common all over the south of Italy. As simple as can be! Two main ingredients. This being Bari, I was told that the only possible pasta to have it with was orecchiette :-) 30 minutes down the road they’d tell you something else. I’ve also seen the recipe with bucatini and spaghetti, so I’m sure it would be good with whichever you care to try it with. I asked the person who gave me the recipe how many anchovies to use and she said ‘it depends how much you like anchovies!’ . I like them a lot, so I used 2 whole ones per person (it would have been more but I ran out🙂 ) Serves 4

orecchiette with anchovies ingredients

orecchiette with anchovies ingredients

  • 320 grams orecchiette
  • 8 whole salted anchovies — filleted, soaked and chopped
  • 4 tablespoons dry bread crumbs
  • 4 tablespoons olive oil
  1. Fry the anchovies gently in the olive oil until they have completely
    dissolved
  2. Mix with the cooked orecchiette and serve, sprinkled with the bread crumbs
orecchiette with anchovies finished dish

orecchiette with anchovies finished dish

Leave a Reply

