Tagliatelle with artichokes and anchovies

Tagliatelle con carciofi e acciughe. If you are unsure how to prepare the artichokes, click here. Serves 6
tagliatelle with artichokes and anchovies finished dish

tagliatelle with artichokes and anchovies finished dish

 

  •  500 g fresh tagliatelle
  •   6 small artichokes
  •   1 lemon
  •   12 tinned anchovies in oil
  •   2 cloves garlic
  •   75 ml dry white wine
  •   100 ml vegetable stock
  •   2 tbsp chopped parsley
  •   30 g butter
  •    olive oil
  •    salt and pepper
  1. Prepare the artichokes in the usual way. Slice thinly.
  2. Add 4 tablespoons of olive oil to a large pan. Fry the whole cloves of garlic until they are well coloured and then remove them from the pan. Drain the artichokes well and add to the pan. Fry for 5 or 6 minutes until they start to colour.
  3. Remove the artichokes and put to one side. Add the anchovies and break them up with a wooden spoon. When the anchovies have completely dissolved, return the artichokes to the pan. Add the wine and stock. Reduce the liquid to half over a high heat. Remove from the heat, seasons with salt and pepper and stir in the parsley.
  4. Cook the tagliatelle. Drain and toss with the butter (optional). Add to the pan with the artichokes, mix well and serve immediately.

 

4 thoughts on “Tagliatelle with artichokes and anchovies

  1. Yes, Ostuni is beautiful, I bet the hills kept you fit though🙂

    Also the trulli are amazing, but it’s very touristy around Alberobello now. Every second trullo seems to be a souvenir shop!

    I’ll have to dig out some more artichoke recipes, you seem to love them as much as I do

    Ciao

    PS I’ve just got around to sorting out my blodroll. I’ve added you site under the food links category

  2. I had my friend check out your site. She knows how much I love Alberobello and always bring her back a souvenior, un pensiero, from there.
    Mio cognato si ha affitato un trullo per noi a Locorotondo. Clearly, Ostuni is also a place of which I have very many fond memories.

    I placed your site as a link on my blogroll at my site. Risotto al carcioffi is also a favorite.
    http://eatknowhow.wordpress.com

    Are you Italian? A Student? How did you choose Bari? My nephew’s both go to the University in Bari, their last name is Aversa.

  3. Thanks a lot. I’m having so much fun here in Bari🙂 Do you have any favourite dishes that I haven’t done yet? I’m always looking for new recipes to try.

    I’ll definitely check out your blog

    Ciao

  4. Quanta Bella il suo sito!
    Your site is fabuolous. Where did you find the custom header of Alberobello, my favorite city in the world..no joke!! Your recipe for tagliatelle e carciofi sono buonissimi! A favorite dish of mine I use to live in Brindisi and my husband is from Bari. Puglia is a favorite region.
    for more nutrition and Fun Food Facts go to:
    http://eatknowhow.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

