Rabbit marinated in white wine

 Coniglio marinato.

Serves 6

marinated rabbit ingredients

  1      rabbit — cut into portions
  30   grams  butter
  1/2 litre  dry white wine
  2     tablespoons  white wine vinegar
  1     onion
  1     carrot
  1     stick  celery
  3     tablespoons  olive oil
         peppercorns
         salt and pepper

  • Put the rabbit pieces in a dish along with the onion, carrot, celery, wine, vinegar and a few peppercorns. Marinate for at least 6 hour in the fridge.
  • When you are ready to cook the rabbit, remove it from the marinade and dry well with kitchen paper. Add the butter and oil to a pan and brown the rabbit pieces. Season with salt and pepper.
  • Strain the marinade and add about 2 ladelfuls to the pan. Allow to evaporate a little and then cover the pan.
  • Cook over a low heat for about an hour and a quarter. If it looks like drying out, add a little more of the marinade.
  • marinated rabbit finished dish

3 thoughts on “Rabbit marinated in white wine

  1. I love Rabbit! one of my favorite dishes. I agree with djkrysa, my American friends are a little squeamish about trying it as well. I’ll have to give your recipe a try. Thanks! Joe

  2. I love rabbit. I used to live in Bergamo, in the north and rabbit with polenta was the traditional Sunday lunch.
    Some of my English friends are a bit squeamish about eating ‘poor little bunny rabbits’, but my attitude is ‘well, you eat little baa lambs, don’t you?’ 🙂 It’s very healthy too.

    PS Tastes a little like kangaroo, if that’s any help 🙂

Leave a comment