Fusilli with mushrooms

Fusilli Ai Funghi. This dish works best if you use a mix of different types of mushrooms. To all my Czech wild mushroom hunter friends – this is the perfect recipe :-). It works with any type however, and on this occasion I cooked it with standard field mushrooms. Serves 4.

  • 320g fusilli
  • 800g mushrooms (as many different types as possible), chopped
  • 250g tomatoes (tinned, pasatta or fresh – skinned seeded and chopped
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 sprig parsley, chopped
  • parmesan cheese, optional
  • 1 knob butter, optional
  • salt and pepper
  • olive oil

 

  1. Wash and chop the mushrooms. How finely you chop them depends on taste and the varieties you are using. I could only get standard field mushrooms, so I chopped them quite finely.
  2. Fry the onion and mushrooms in olive oil until the mushrooms start to release their liquid.
  3. Add the tomatoes, season with salt and pepper, cover and cook over a low heat for 45 minutes.
  4. Remove from the heat and add the parsley.
  5. Cook the fusilli in plenty of salted boiling water until al dente. Drain and toss with a knob of butter (optional).
  6. Mix the pasta with the mushroom sauce and serve with parmesan cheese on the side.

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Fusilli with mushrooms

  1. Does anyone know a kind of mushroom – “Putpar” it is found in India… as i am a native Indian , and i’ve had “putpads” a lot many times. they grow in jungles just like mushrooms.Well i’ll give u all its description . it tastes amazing and it looks like smaill round potatoes dark brown in colour. They are quite fluffy in tough.if u press them by taking then between your thumb and index finger, they it’ll make a bursting sound!
    Its white from inside and and like a boiled egg with a york kind of a thing within it. It can grow anywhere or everywhere in forests. People just dig the ground to get them. I am not sure wht exactly it is . I am not a bio Student so i donno nuffin about it ! But yes all wht i knew, i told u guys now can anyone temme , wht it is? if u’ve seen and have ever had such a mushroom kindaa thing.

  2. Hi Nikki

    I hope you enjoy the recipe.

    I have to admit that I’m a little jealous of you, living in Korea. The food must be very interesting!

    All the best

    DJ

  3. Thanks for the comment on my blog, and I’m really excited about trying the bolognese recipe that I linked to…I live in Korea, so I’ll see how close to authentic I can make it, haha. I came over to your blog to take a look around after you left your comment, and from what I have seen, I love what you cook! And I have to say, fusilli alla funghi has always been one of my favourites. I will definitely try this too! Happy cooking!

  4. Hi Kristina

    I’m glad you and your friends enjoyed the recipe. Thanks for dropping in and taking the time to comment.

    Ciao 🙂

  5. I cooked this dish for my friends this weekend using mini-portabello and field mushrooms. I used tomato sauce from a can because I was in a hurry, and left them and the parsley in big pieces. It was really good, and I’m eating the leftovers now. Thanks!

Leave a comment